Anita Skeen

September 10, 1999

Anita Skeen
Anita Skeen is the author of four volumes of poetry: The Resurrection of the Animals; Each Hand a Map; Outside the Fold, Outside the Frame; and Portraits. Her poetry, short fiction, and essays have appeared in numerous literary magazines and anthologies. She is currently completing a new volume of poetry, a collection of short stories, and a first novel, Minor Chords.
Skeen was born in 1946 and grew up in West Virginia. She graduated from Concord College in Athens, West Virginia, and received her graduate degrees from Bowling Green State University. She is a Professor of English, as well as the Director of the Residential Option in Arts and Letters Program at Michigan State University; and teaches Creative Writing, Women's Studies, and Canadian Studies. Prior to coming to MSU, she was on the faculty of the English Department and M.F.A. Program at Wichita State University. While at WSU, Skeen co-founded the Kay Closson Women Writing Series. The series, presented annually by the WSU Center for Women’s Studies since 1981, is now known as the Words By Women Series. She is also Director of the Creative Arts Festival and the Fall Writing Series at Ghost Ranch in Abiquiu, New Mexico.

"In Anita Skeen's world, the past rolls in like fog, unpredictably, to trouble and reconfigure the present. It is a world well worth visiting despite its hazards. Moreover, she has the uncanny ability to make me feel that I have already seen part of it, but not enough; so that I linger until I become part of her pemanent audience. In the landscape of American poetry Anita Skeen matters." George Ellenbogen

To view Special Collections' holdings of Anita Skeen's work, please click here.

To hear Skeen read from her own work, please visit the Vincent Voice Library, here.

Back to the Writers' page
Page Editor: BreezySilver
Last Updated: March 12, 2010