Craig C. Holden

September 12, 2003

Craig C. Holden

Toledo native Craig Holden's first novel is entitled The River Sorrow. The success of the book allowed Holden to begin writing full time and his second novel, The Last Sanctuary, appeared in 1996. His third book, Four Corners of Night, met with tremendous critical acclaim, garnering Holden the 1999 Great Lakes Book Award for fiction and making the USA Today bestseller list. Holden’s fourth novel, The Jazz Bird, is a fictionalized account of a 1920s Cincinnati society murder. His most recent novel, The Narcissist's Daughter, was published in 2005.

Holden attended the University of Toledo, receiving a B.A. through the Honors Department in psychology, biology, and philosophy. He received an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from the University of Montana. He has worked as a literary and film rights agent, as well as a professor at the universities of Michigan and Toledo. He and his family live outside Ann Arbor, Michigan.


"In the fifth novel from a veritable master of the craft, what begins as a simple if risky affair leads from obsession through rage to a revenge plot that will transform the lives of everyone involved. The Narcissist’s Daughter is an unforgettably intelligent and moody thriller" - Simon & Schuster

For more information on Craig Holden, please visit his website:

To view Special Collections' holdings of Holden's work, please click here.

To hear Holden read from his own work, please visit the Vincent Voice Library, here.

Back to the Writers' page
Page Editor: BreezySilver
Last Updated: March 12, 2010